NAE's 2012 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium

Seventy-eight of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 18th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium.  Engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines will come together for the 2 1/2 day event. The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations and chosen from approximately 300 applicants.

“Our nation’s health, quality of life, and security will depend on the engineering achievements of the 21st century,” said NAE President Charles M. Vest.  “The Frontiers of Engineering program gives young engineering pioneers the opportunity to collaborate and share approaches across fields. We believe those interactions will generate new ideas for improving the future.”

The symposium will be held on Sept. 13-15, 2012, at the General Motors Technical Center in Warren, Michigan; and will examine serious games, vehicle electrification, climate engineering, and engineering materials for the biological interface.  Alan I. Taub, retired vice president of General Motors global research and development, will be a featured speaker at the symposium.

The following engineers were selected as general participants:

  • Pieter Abbeel: University of California, Berkeley
  • Andrea Armani: University of Southern California
  • Muhannad Bakir: Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Billy Bardin: Dow Chemical Co.
  • Halil Berberoglu: University of Texas, Austin
  • Alexandra Boltasseva: Purdue University
  • David Brumley: Carnegie Mellon University
  • Xi Chen: Columbia University
  • Gian Colombo: Carpenter Technology
  • Xiquan Cui: Qualcomm Inc.
  • Frank DelRio: National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Zhiqun (Daniel) Deng: Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Jennifer Dionne: Stanford University
  • Nathan Domagalski: Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Ayman EL-Refaie: GE Global Research
  • Michael Escuti: North Carolina State University
  • Joelle Frechette: Johns Hopkins University
  • Yan Fu: Ford Motor Co.
  • Weiying Gao: DuPont
  • David Garrett: Broadcom Corp.
  • Brian Gerkey: Willow Garage
  • Sayata Ghose: Boeing Co.
  • Anindya Ghoshal: U.S. Army Research Laboratory
  • Jordan Green: Johns Hopkins University
  • Piyush Gupta: Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Robert Hampshire: Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jessica Harrison: DNV KEMA Energy and Sustainability
  • Steve Hartmann: Medtronic
  • Reed Hendershot: Air Products and Chemicals Inc.
  • Elizabeth Hillman: Columbia University
  • Jeremy Hollman: Aurora Flight Sciences
  • Mona Jarrahi: University of Michigan
  • Michael Jewett: Northwestern University
  • Suzette Johnson: Northrop Grumman
  • Anupama Kaul: National Science Foundation
  • Scott Klemmer: Stanford University
  • LaShanda Teresa Korley: Case Western Reserve University
  • Christopher Kruegel: University of California, Santa Barbara
  • T.C. Michael Law: Mueser Rutledge Consulting Engineers
  • Chunhao Lee: General Motors
  • Steven Little: University of Pittsburgh
  • Xiang Liu: Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Jason Lyons: Arkema Inc.
  • Brian MacCleery: National Instruments
  • Youssef Marzouk: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Kristyn Masters: University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Meagan Mauter: Carnegie Mellon University
  • Jason May: HRL Laboratories
  • Timothy McKnight: Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Brett McMickell: Honeywell Aerospace
  • W. David Merryman: Vanderbilt University
  • Rahul Mital: General Motors
  • Mohammad Mofrad: University of California, Berkeley
  • Nathan Moody: Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Elisabeth Nguyen: Aerospace Corp.
  • Nicholas Peters: Applied Communication Sciences
  • Desiree Plata: Duke University
  • Yadunandana Rao: Motorola Solutions
  • David Reeder: Cargill Inc.
  • Kate Riggins: Procter & Gamble Co.
  • Wallace Sawyer: University of Florida
  • Charles Schroeder: University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Stephanie Severance: Cummins
  • Behrouz Shafei: University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Leena Singh: Charles Stark Draper Laboratory
  • Shukri Souri: Exponent Inc.
  • Joshuah Stolaroff: Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Tong Sun: Xerox Webster Research Center
  • Kevin Turner: University of Pennsylvania
  • Kimberly Turner: University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Chris Urmson: Google
  • Peter van Beek: SHARP Laboratories of America Inc.
  • Sergei Vassilvitskii: Yahoo!
  • Kuansan Wang: Microsoft
  • Kevin Wasson: Corning Inc.
  • Ulrike Wegst: Dartmouth College
  • Jianzhong Wu: University of California, Riverside
  • Miao Yu: University of Maryland

Speakers at this year's event are:

  • Matthew Gevaert: KIYATEC Inc.
  • Christopher Jones: Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Eli Kintisch: Science Insider
  • Ben Kravitz: Stanford University
  • Helen Lu: Columbia University
  • Arindam Maitra: Electric Power Research Institute
  • Rahul Mangharam: University of Pennsylvania
  • Richard Marks: Sony
  • Cory Ondrejka: Facebook
  • Zoran Popovic: University of Washington
  • Lynn Russell: Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Jeff Sakamoto: Michigan State University
  • David Schaffer: University of California, Berkeley
  • Constance Steinkuehler: Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Matthew Willard: Naval Research Laboratory

The organizers of the 2012 symposium are:

  • Kristi Anseth (chair): University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Karen Burg: Clemson University
  • Li-Te Cheng: IBM
  • Michael Degner: Ford Motor Co.
  • Ali Khademhosseini: Harvard University
  • Sanjeev Naik: General Motors
  • Ben Sawyer: Digitalmill
  • David Sholl: Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Armin Sorooshian: University of Arizona

Sponsors for the 2012 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering are General Motors, the Grainger Foundation, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, National Science Foundation, Microsoft Research, and Cummins Inc.

The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. The NAE is part of the National Academies (along with the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council), an independent, nonprofit organization chartered by Congress to provide objective analysis and advice to the nation on matters of science and technology.

For more information, visit:

Read 2749 times

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Copyright © 2019 Prototype Today ®. All rights reserved.

|   Privacy Policy |   Terms & Conditions |   Contact Us |

All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Additive Manufacturing Today