Two California Schools Win the 21st U.S. Department of Energy National Science Bowl

A high school team from Sacramento and a middle school team from San Ramon won the 2011 U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Science Bowl today at the National Building Museum in Washington D.C. Mira Loma High School defeated Montgomery Blair High School from Maryland in the high school national championship match by correctly answering a chemistry question. Gale Ranch Middle School defeated Shahala Middle School from Vancouver, Washington in the middle school national championship match.

The high school national champion will receive an all-expense-paid trip in July to the International Science School in Sydney, Australia. Members of the winning high school team are Russell Islam, Siddharth Trehan, Andrew Chen, Anish Khare, Sriram Pendyala and are coached by James Hill. Members of the winning middle school team are Saranesh Prembabu, Ayush Rath, Augustine Chemparathy, Rishi Krishnan, Ladislav Steffko and are coached by George Chemparathy.

At the awards ceremony, Secretary of Energy Steven Chu spoke to the more than 500 students and 100 teacher/coaches about the importance of science education to the Nation's economic and technological future.

"These students represent the great promise and potential of America's next great generation," said Secretary Chu. "I have no doubt that the exceptional talent and hard work that earned them the Science Bowl championship will serve them well throughout their lives, as they help our Nation tackle the crucial scientific and engineering challenges we'll face in the years ahead. America's future will always be bright when we continue to invest in and support the young minds who will be tomorrow's innovators, pioneers and leaders. That's what the science bowl is all about."

One hundred ten teams from 44 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands competed in this weekend's national finals of the 21st annual DOE National Science Bowl. Earlier this spring, more than 14,000 students from across the country participated in regional Science Bowls. Sixty-nine high school and 41 middle school regional Science Bowl champion teams received all-expense paid trips to compete in the National Finals in Washington, DC.

DOE created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. DOE supports mathematics and science education to help provide a technically trained and diverse workforce for the nation. More than 200,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl throughout its 21 year history.

High School Results:

Second place Montgomery Blair High School team members are: Diwakaran Ilangovan, Alexander Briese, Andrew Das Sarma, Sandra Yan, Samuel Zbarsky and coach Tran Pham. Each student received a $750 scholarship from the U.S. Air Force.

The third place team was Sunset High School from Portland, Oregon. Team members are: Rahul Dalal, Yushi Wang, Ryan Choi, Vivek Raman, Michelle Tai and coach John Sheu. Each student received a $500 scholarship from the U.S. Air Force.

The fourth place team was Fairview High School from Boulder, Colorado. Team members are: Chris Guthrie, William Conway, Charles Xu, Karun Kumar Rao, and Nicolas Le Dru and coach Tammy Hearty.

Dos Pueblos High School from Goleta, California won the High School Science Bowl Civility Award for outstanding sportsmanship. Team members are Daniel Richman, Ilan Goodman, Daniel Gay, Michael Feldman, and Andy Granatelli and coach Chris Jones. The team won a nine-day trip to Alaska to study the region's glacial, biological and geological treasures. Each member of the team also received a water-powered clock, courtesy of IBM.

Middle School Results:

Second place Shahala Middle School team members are: Peter Lu, Ming Liu, Victor Chang, Eric Hou, Daniel Rodricks and coach James Cantonwine.

The third place team was Hopkins Junior High School from Fremont, California. Team members are: Hemang Jangle, Alvin Hsu, Kyle Liang, Brian Mi, and Alvin Kao and coach Paul Ricks.

The fourth place team was Van Antwerp Middle School from Schenectady, New York. Team members are: Robert Kaucic, Martin Schreiner, Alexander Wei, Jason Tang, and Andrei Akhmetov and coach Connie Soron.

The Home Schools of Eastern Iowa from Walker, Iowa won the Middle School Science Bowl Civility Award for outstanding sportsmanship. Each member of the Civility Award team received an Amazon Kindle, a $100 gift certificate to and a water-powered clock, courtesy of IBM.

Blake Middle School from Hopkins, Minnesota raced the fastest car entry during the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Model Car Challenge, where all the National Science Bowl middle school teams designed, built and raced model cars powered by hydrogen fuel. Their car covered 10 meters in 3.49 seconds. The Home Schools of Eastern Iowa from Walker, Iowa won the design portion of the car competition. Both teams received $500 for their schools' science department.

The top 16 high school and 8 middle school teams received a cash prize of $1,000 for their school's science department.

The remaining 12 high school teams on that list are:

* Amarillo High School, Amarillo, TX
* American Heritage School, Plantation, FL
* Bethlehem Central High School, Delmar, NY
* Coeur d'Alene Charter Academy, Coeur d'Alene, ID
* High Technology High School, Lincroft, NJ
* Hunter College High School, New York, NY
* Lexington High School, Lexington, MA
* Mission San Jose High School, Fremont, CA
* North Hollywood High School, North Hollywood, CA
* Oak Ridge High School, Oak Ridge, TN
* Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, NH
* Wayzata High School, Plymouth, MN

The remaining four middle school teams on that list are:

* Academy for Science and Design, Merrimack, NH
* Longfellow Middle School, Falls Church, VA
* Lux Middle School, Lincoln, NE
* Marshall Middle School, Wexford, PA

DOE's Office of Science manages the DOE National Science Bowl. This year's sponsors are Bechtel, IBM, Texas Instruments and the U.S. Air Force.

An archived video streaming webcast will available this afternoon on the National Science Bowl webpage.  Broadcast quality B-roll video of the Science Bowl events, biographical information on the teams, and additional information about the National Science Bowl are available on the News Media webpage.

Read 4255 times

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Copyright © 2019 Prototype Today ®. All rights reserved.

|   Privacy Policy |   Terms & Conditions |   Contact Us |

All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Additive Manufacturing Today